DELIBES (LÉO)

Léo Delibes, French composer (1836 - 1891)

Clément Philibert Léo Delibes was born on February 21, 1836 in Saint-Germain du Val (Sarthe). His father, a postman, died when he was only eleven years old. His mother, Élisabeth Batiste, belongs to a family of musicians. When her husband died, she moved to Paris. His mother and her half-brother Antoi...

Léo Delibes, French composer (1836 - 1891)

Clément Philibert Léo Delibes was born on February 21, 1836 in Saint-Germain du Val (Sarthe). His father, a postman, died when he was only eleven years old. His mother, Élisabeth Batiste, belongs to a family of musicians. When her husband died, she moved to Paris. His mother and her half-brother Antoine-Édouard Batiste (1820-1876), organist at the Saint-Nicolas-des-Champs church in Paris, who taught him music.  

Being an excellent singer, the young Leo entered the Conservatoire de Paris at the age of twelve, where he obtained a first music theory prize in two years. He also studied piano, organ and composition there, under the direction of François Benoît (1794-1878), Adolphe Adam (1803-1856) and François Bazin (1816-1878).  

From 1853, he was organist at Saint-Pierre de Chaillot and coach-accompanist at the Théâtre-Lyrique (destroyed in 1860 by Hausmann to establish Place de la République). He, then, met Jules Verne, himself the author of opera-comic librettos, who was its secretary until 1855.  

Léo Delibes begins to write for the stage. His first opera-buffa "Deux sous de charbon" was created in 1856 and was regularly performed until 1870. During this period, he composed around fifteen works, including the Omelette à la Follembûche (1859) in a libretto Eugène Labiche and Marc Michel, the Musicians of the Orchestra (1861), The court of king Pétaud (1869). In 1865, he became second choir director of the Paris Opera and was asked to write ballet music. La source (1866), Coppélia (1870), Sylvia (1876) gave him fame. His music was then applauded as much in concert halls as in theaters.  

Léo Delibes left his duties as organist and choirmaster in 1871 to devote himself entirely to composition.   Professor of composition at the Conservatoire de Paris from 1881, after Napoleon-Henri Reber (1807-1880), it is with Lakmé, opera in three acts according to a short story by Pierre Loti, premiered on April 14, 1883, that it reaches an international audience never denied today. The air des clochettes remains an essential partition of the program of the colorature sopranos and the duo des fleurs (for soprano and mezzo) is regularly performed in concert.  

The music of Léo Delibes with great melodic and harmonic fluidity is often considered easy to approach. Having never sought to be a "revolutionary", the composer reflects the Parisian musical life of his time, light and elegant.  

Léo Delibes died on January 16, 1891 in Paris, leaving the Kassya opera unfinished, completed and orchestrated by Jules Massenet (1842-1912) and premiered two years later at the Opéra-Comique de Paris. He is buried in the Montmartre cemetery, in the same section as Jacques Offenbach, Louis Niedermeyer and Théodore Dubois.

More

DELIBES (LÉO)  There are 5 products.

Showing 1 - 5 of 5 items
Showing 1 - 5 of 5 items

DELIBES (LÉO)

Information

DELIBES (LÉO)

Léo Delibes, compositeur français (1836 - 1891)

Clément Philibert Léo Delibes est né le 21 février 1836 à Saint-Germain du Val (Sarthe). Son père, postier, décède alors qu’il n’a que onze ans. Sa mère, Élisabeth Batiste, appartient à une famille de musiciens. À la mort de son mari, elle s’installe à Paris. C’est elle et son demi-frère Antoine-É...

Léo Delibes, compositeur français (1836 - 1891)

Clément Philibert Léo Delibes est né le 21 février 1836 à Saint-Germain du Val (Sarthe). Son père, postier, décède alors qu’il n’a que onze ans. Sa mère, Élisabeth Batiste, appartient à une famille de musiciens. À la mort de son mari, elle s’installe à Paris. C’est elle et son demi-frère Antoine-Édouard Batiste (1820-1876), organiste à l’église Saint-Nicolas-des-Champs à Paris, qui vont lui enseigner la musique.

 

Excellent chanteur, le jeune Léo entre à l’âge de douze ans au Conservatoire de Paris où il obtient en deux ans un premier prix de solfège. Il y étudie aussi le piano, l’orgue et la composition, sous la direction de François Benoît (1794-1878), Adolphe Adam (1803-1856) et François Bazin (1816-1878).

 

Dès 1853, il est organiste à Saint-Pierre de Chaillot et répétiteur-accompagnateur au Théâtre-Lyrique (détruit en 1860 par Hausmann pour y établir la Place de la République). Il fait alors la connaissance de Jules Verne, lui-même auteur de livrets d’opéra-comique, qui en est le secrétaire jusqu’en 1855.

 

Léo Delibes commence à écrire pour la scène. Son premier opéra-bouffe « Deux sous de charbon », est créé en 1856 et est régulièrement repris jusqu’en 1870. Il compose pendant cette période une quinzaine d’ouvrages dont l’Omelette à la Follembûche (1859) sur un livret d’Eugène Labiche et Marc Michel, les Musiciens de l’Orchestre (1861), La cour du roi Pétaud (1869).

 

En 1865, il devient second chef de chœur de l’Opéra de Paris et est sollicité pour écrire des musiques de ballets. La source (1866), Coppélia (1870), Sylvia (1876) lui assurent la renommée. Ses musiques sont alors autant applaudies en salles de concert que dans les théâtres.

 

Léo Delibes quitte en 1871 ses fonctions d’organiste et de chef de chœur pour se consacrer entièrement à la composition.

 

Professeur de composition au Conservatoire de Paris à partir de 1881, au poste de Napoléon-Henri Reber (1807-1880), c’est avec Lakmé, opéra en trois actes d’après une nouvelle de Pierre Loti, créé le 14 avril 1883, qu’il atteint une audience internationale jamais démentie encore aujourd’hui. L’air des clochettes demeure une partition incontournable du programme des sopranos colorature et le duo des fleurs (pour soprano et mezzo) est régulièrement interprété en concert.

 

La musique de Léo Delibes d’une grande fluidité mélodique et harmonique est souvent considérée d’approche facile. N’ayant jamais cherché à être un « révolutionnaire », le compositeur reflète la vie musicale parisienne de son époque, légère et élégante.

 

Léo Delibes décède le 16 janvier 1891 à Paris, laissant inachevé l’opéra Kassya,terminé et orchestré par Jules Massenet (1842-1912)et créé deux ans plus tard à l’Opéra-Comique de Paris. Il est enterré au cimetière Montmartre, dans la même section que Jacques Offenbach, Louis Niedermeyer et Théodore Dubois.

Détails

DELIBES (LÉO)  Il y a 5 produits.

Résultats 1 - 5 sur 5.
Résultats 1 - 5 sur 5.