DU MONT (DUMONT) (HENRY)

Henry DU MONT or DUMONT (1610 - 1684)

Composer born in 1610 in Belgium, near Hasselt, in Limburg (his birth name is Thiers, which means Mont), Henry Dumont received his musical education in Maastricht (Holland), including the organ. After a stay in Liège, in 1638 he became organist at the Saint-Paul church in Paris (under the name of Henry Dum...

Henry DU MONT or DUMONT (1610 - 1684)

Composer born in 1610 in Belgium, near Hasselt, in Limburg (his birth name is Thiers, which means Mont), Henry Dumont received his musical education in Maastricht (Holland), including the organ. After a stay in Liège, in 1638 he became organist at the Saint-Paul church in Paris (under the name of Henry Dumont, or according to the publications of some of his works Du Mont).

Harpsichordist at the court of the Duke of Anjou, brother of Louis XIV, from 1652, he entered the service of the Queen in 1660 and in 1663 became one of the four sub-masters of the Royal Chapel (with Pierre Robert, Thomas Gobert and Gabriel Expilly). He died in Paris in 1684.

His compositions, mainly religious, include motets with 2 and 4 voices in French (paraphrase of the psalms of Antoine Godeau, bishop of Vence and Grasse) and in Latin, grands motets for choir, soloists and instruments and five "messes royales".

More

DU MONT (DUMONT) (HENRY)  There are 4 products.

Showing 1 - 4 of 4 items
Showing 1 - 4 of 4 items

DU MONT (DUMONT) (HENRY)

Information

DU MONT (DUMONT) (HENRY)
  • Henry DU MONT ou DUMONT (1610 – 1684)

  • Compositeur né en 1610 en Belgique, près de Hasselt, dans le Limbourg (son nom de naissance est de Thiers, ce qui signifie du Mont), Henry Dumont reçoit à Maastricht (Hollande) son éducation musicale, dont l’orgue. Après un séjour à Liège, il devient en 1638 organiste à l’église Saint-Paul à Par...
  • Henry DU MONT ou DUMONT (1610 – 1684)

  • Compositeur né en 1610 en Belgique, près de Hasselt, dans le Limbourg (son nom de naissance est de Thiers, ce qui signifie du Mont), Henry Dumont reçoit à Maastricht (Hollande) son éducation musicale, dont l’orgue. Après un séjour à Liège, il devient en 1638 organiste à l’église Saint-Paul à Paris (sous le nom d’Henry Dumont , ou selon les publications de certaines de ses œuvres Du Mont).
  • Claveciniste à la cour du duc d’Anjou, frère de Louis XIV, à partir de 1652, il entre en 1660 au service de la Reine et devient en 1663, un des quatre sous-maîtres de la Chapelle royale (avec Pierre Robert, Thomas Gobert et Gabriel Expilly). Il décède à Paris en 1684.
  • Ses compositions, principalement religieuses, comportent des motets à 2 et 4 voix en français (paraphrase des psaumes d’Antoine Godeau, évêque de Vence et Grasse) et en latin, des grands motets pour chœur, solistes et instruments et cinq messes « royales ».
Détails

DU MONT (DUMONT) (HENRY)  Il y a 2 produits.

Résultats 1 - 2 sur 2.
Résultats 1 - 2 sur 2.