LE FLEM (PAUL)
  • Paul Le Flem, 1881-1984, professor, choirmaster, music critic, composer. Born into a family very attached to Brittany, died in Tréguier in the Côtes d'Armor at the age of 103 years. His works are inspired by music from the 15th and 16th centuries, evoke the landscapes, legends and songs of Breton folklore and reveal the influence of Claude D...
  • Paul Le Flem, 1881-1984, professor, choirmaster, music critic, composer. Born into a family very attached to Brittany, died in Tréguier in the Côtes d'Armor at the age of 103 years. His works are inspired by music from the 15th and 16th centuries, evoke the landscapes, legends and songs of Breton folklore and reveal the influence of Claude Debussy, between modality and atonality.
  • Graduate of philosophy, the former Bergson's student at the Sorbonne (1901) composes melodies on poems by Verlaine (Ariette oubliée, Mandoline, Soleil couchants, 1904) and, later in his life, Max Jacob (Morven le Gaëlique , six poems, 1963) and Benjamin Perret (Courir sur un mIroir, 1955).
  • After having worked at the Schola Cantorum with Vincent d'Indy and Albert Roussel (1904), Le Flem taught counterpoint there from 1923 to 1934. Érik Satie, André Jolivet, Marcel Mihalovic, Roland-Manuel were among his students.
  • His career as a music critic in present time and then in daily Comœoedia allows him to forge multiple ties with the musicians of his time. From 1913, he defended the modernity of Igor Stravinsky, Serge Lifar and Darius Milhaud (Le Sacre du Printemps, 1913.
  • Le Flem's lyric work borrows greatly from the tales and legends of Brittany. It includes "Aucassin et Nicolette", 1909, after an anonymous fable song from the 12th-13th century, Le rossignol de Saint-Malo, 1938, La magicienne de la mer, 1954, La Maudite, (1966-1968) according to the Breton legend of the city of Ys and Dahut, magician and princess who bewitched him all his life.
  • We find the love of freedom and the open sea, the proximity of strikes and moors, the song of broom and death in works for orchestra such as Les Voix du Large (1911) and Pour les Morts (1913) inspired of a Breton hymn. He also harmonized many popular songs, most of which remained unpublished and published for the first time at Editions Musiques en Flandres.
  • Paul Le Flem remains a composer with great melodic and harmonic sensitivity anchored in the depths of Celtic emotion and soul.
  • © Didier Chagnas
More

LE FLEM (PAUL)  There are 4 products.

Showing 1 - 4 of 4 items
Showing 1 - 4 of 4 items

LE FLEM (PAUL)

Information

LE FLEM (PAUL)
  • Paul Le Flem, 1881-1984, professeur, chef de chœur, critique musical, compositeur. Né dans une famille très attachée à la Bretagne, mort à Tréguier dans les Côtes d'Armor à l'âge de 103 ans. Ses œuvres s'inspirent de la musique du XVe et XVIe siècles, évoquent les paysages, les légendes et les chants du folklore bretons et révèlent l’influen...
  • Paul Le Flem, 1881-1984, professeur, chef de chœur, critique musical, compositeur. Né dans une famille très attachée à la Bretagne, mort à Tréguier dans les Côtes d'Armor à l'âge de 103 ans. Ses œuvres s'inspirent de la musique du XVe et XVIe siècles, évoquent les paysages, les légendes et les chants du folklore bretons et révèlent l’influence de Claude Debussy, entre modalité et atonalité.
  • Licencié de philosophie, l'ancien élève de Bergson à la Sorbonne (1901) compose des mélodies sur des poèmes de Verlaine (Ariette oubliée, Mandoline, Soleil couchants, 1904) et, plus tard dans sa vie, Max Jacob (Morven le Gaëlique, six poèmes,1963) et Benjamin Perret (Courir sur un mIroir, 1955).
  • Après avoir travaillé à la Schola Cantorum avec Vincent d’Indy et Albert Roussel (1904), Le Flem y enseigne le contrepoint de 1923 à 1934. Érik Satie, André Jolivet, Marcel Mihalovic, Roland-Manuel sont parmi ses élèves.
  • Sa carrière de critique musical au Temps présent puis  au quotidien Comœoedia lui permet de tisser de multiples liens avec les musiciens de son temps. Dès 1913, il défend la modernité d'Igor Stravinsky, Serge Lifar et Darius Milhaud (Le Sacre du Printemps, 1913.
  • L'œuvre lyrique de Le Flem emprunte grandement aux contes et légendes de Bretagne. Elle  comporte « Aucassin et Nicolette »,1909, d'après une chante-fable anonyme du 12e -13 e siècle, Le rossignol de Saint-Malo,1938, La magicienne de la mer, 1954, La Maudite, (1966-1968) d'après la légende bretonne de la ville d'Ys et de Dahut, magicienne et princesse qui l'ont envoûté toute sa vie.
  • On retrouve l'amour de la liberté et du grand large, la proximité des grèves et des landes, le chant des genêts et la mort  dans les œuvres pour orchestre comme Les Voix du Large (1911) et Pour les Morts (1913) inspiré d'un cantique breton. Il a également harmonisé de nombreuses chansons populaires, pour la plupart restées inédites et publiées pour la première fois aux Editions Musiques en Flandres.
  • Paul Le Flem demeure un compositeur à la grande sensibilité mélodique et harmonique ancré au plus profond de l'émotion et de l'âme celtes.
  • © Didier Chagnas
Détails

LE FLEM (PAUL)  Il y a 4 produits.

Résultats 1 - 4 sur 4.
Résultats 1 - 4 sur 4.