Chausson (Ernest)

  • Ernest Chausson was born on January 20, 1855 Impasse Chausson in the 10th arrondissement of Paris. He belongs to a wealthy bourgeois family, owner of the land on the street which today bears the name of his grandfather, Pierre Chausson.
  • After studying law, Chausson enrolled in 1879 at the Paris Conservatory of Music in the class of Jules Massenet as a free auditor. He fails the Prix de Rome competition, leaves the conservatory and completes, on a private basis, his musical training with César Franck.
  • This period (1879 -1882) was marked by the composition of 7 melodies, op 2, on poems by Leconte de Lisle, Théophile Gautier, Paul Bourget ...
  • He travels to Germany and attends the representations of the Ghost Vessel and Richard Wagner's Tetralogy. Chausson returns several times to Bayreuth. In 1882, he and his friend Vincent d'Indy attended the creation of Parsifal. 
  • In 1886, Ernest Chausson was secretary of the SNM (Société Nationale de Musique) founded by Camille Saint Saëns in 1870. He held this position for ten years. Chausson takes Claude Debussy, Prix de Rome 1884, under his protection. He receives him in his Paris mansion and in his country house in Luzancy and helps him financially for several years.
  • Composers such as Henri Duparc, Gabriel Fauré, Pierre de Bréville, Claude Debussy frequent his salon 22 boulevard de Courcelles. They meet at the “Chausson dinners” Stéphane Mallarmé, Henri de Régnier, Yvan Tourgueniev, Isaac Albéniz, Eugène Ysaye, Claude Monet, Pierre Puvis de Chavannes, Maurice Denis, Odilon Redon etc.
  • During this period, Chausson composed the famous song-cycle "Poème de l'amour et de la mer" for voice and orchestra (1882-1893), La Légende de Sainte Cécile (1891) and especially his only opera Le Roi Arthus (1887-1894) -King Arthus-  for which he writes the libretto too. (The opera will be premiered in 1903 at the Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brussels, four after the composer's death).
  • During a bicycle ride on the property of Baron Laurent-Attalin in Limay, the composer fell and died of a skull fracture on June 10, 1899 He was forty-four years old.
  • During the last years of his life he composed from Serres Chaud (1893-1896), five melodies for voice and piano on poetry by Maurice Maeterlinck; The Perpetual Song (1898) on a text by Charles Cros; Poem for violin and orchestra, 0p.25 (1896).
  • His latest works evolve towards a more refined style: Ballata, op. 29 (1896-1897), Quartet for piano and strings in A major op. 30 (1897), Some Dances op. 26 (1896), Paysages pour piano op 38 (1895-1896). He leaves unfinished the String Quartet op. 35, the third movement of which will be completed by Vincent d'Indy.
  • The composer has left an extremely diverse and high quality body of work (70 opuses, published or not, in seventeen years of activity) which continue to be played and recorded.
  • © Didier Chagnas
Chausson (Ernest)

Chausson (Ernest) There are 2 products.

Active filters

E. CHAUSSON

Ernest Chausson is better known for his melodies and less for his choral pieces. Dying too early from a bicycle accident, he just did few scores for the choirs. This Ballata, written in1897, is a cappella work dedicated to a quartet "les petits...

€1.71

TRADITIONAL

MeF 138 / traditional folk song from Flanders, for 4 mixed voices Young lady, do not grieve, the feast of St. Anne's is coming up. It must arrive soon, then it will pass. Let's dance, let's jump, let's enjoy ourselves and be content. Such a life,...

€1.33

CHAUSSON (ERNEST)
  • Ernest Chausson naît le 20 janvier 1855 Impasse Chausson dans le 10e arrondissement de Paris. II appartient à une famille bourgeoise fortunée, propriétaire des terrains de la rue qui porte aujourd’hui le nom de son grand-père, Pierre Chausson.
  •  Après des études de droit, Chausson s’inscrit en 1879 au Conservatoire de musique de Paris dans...
  • Ernest Chausson naît le 20 janvier 1855 Impasse Chausson dans le 10e arrondissement de Paris. II appartient à une famille bourgeoise fortunée, propriétaire des terrains de la rue qui porte aujourd’hui le nom de son grand-père, Pierre Chausson.
  •  Après des études de droit, Chausson s’inscrit en 1879 au Conservatoire de musique de Paris dans la classe de Jules Massenet comme auditeur libre. Il échoue au concours du Prix de Rome, quitte le conservatoire et complète, à titre privé, sa formation musicale avec César Franck.
  •  Cette période (1879 -1882) est marquée par la composition de 7 mélodies, op 2, sur des poèmes de Leconte de Lisle, Théophile Gautier, Paul Bourget  ...
  • Il voyage en Allemagne et assiste aux représentations du Vaisseau Fantôme et de la Tétralogie de Richard  Wagner. Chausson retourne plusieurs fois à Bayreuth. En 1882, il assiste avec son ami Vincent d’Indy à la création de Parsifal.
  • En 1886, Ernest Chausson est secrétaire de la SNM (Société Nationale de Musique) fondée par Camille Saint Saëns en 1870. Il occupe ce poste pendant dix ans. Chausson prend sous sa protection Claude Debussy, prix de Rome 1884. Il le reçoit dans son hôtel particulier parisien et dans sa maison de campagne à Luzancy et l’aide financièrement pendant plusieurs années.
  • Les compositeurs Henri Duparc, Gabriel Fauré, Pierre de Bréville, Claude Debussy fréquentent son salon 22 boulevard de Courcelles. Ils retrouvent aux « dîners de Chausson » Stéphane Mallarmé, Henri de Régnier, Yvan Tourgueniev, Isaac Albéniz, Eugène Ysaye, Claude Monet, Pierre Puvis de Chavannes, Maurice Denis, Odilon Redon etc.
  • Pendant cette période, Chausson compose le célèbre Poème de l’Amour et de la Mer pour voix et orchestre (1882-1893), La Légende de sainte Cécile (1891) et surtout son unique opéra Le Roi Arthus(1887- 1894) dont il écrit aussi le livret. (L‘opéra sera créé en 1903 au Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie à Bruxelles, quatre après la mort du compositeur).
  • Au cours d’une promenade à bicyclette dans la propriété du baron Laurent-Attalin à Limay, le compositeur fait une chute et succombe d’une fracture du crâne le 10 juin 1899 Il est âgé de quarante-quatre ans.
  • Des dernières années de sa vie, datent Serres chaudes (1893-1896), cinq mélodies pour voix et piano sur des poésies de Maurice Maeterlinck ; La Chanson perpétuelle (1898) sur un texte de Charles Cros ; Poème pour violon et orchestre, 0p.25 (1896).
  • Ses dernières œuvres évoluent vers un style plus épuré : Ballata, op. 29 (1896-1897), Quatuor pour piano et cordes en La majeur op. 30 (1897), Quelques Danses op. 26 (1896), Paysages pour piano op 38 (1895-1896). Il laisse inachevé le Quatuor à cordes op. 35 dont le troisième mouvement sera terminé par Vincent d’Indy.
  •  Le compositeur a laissé un corpus d’œuvres extrêmement diversifié et de grande qualité (70 opus, publiés ou non, en dix-sept ans d’activité) qui continuent d’être jouées et enregistrées.
  • © Didier Chagnas
Détails

CHAUSSON (ERNEST)  Il y a 1 produit.

Résultats 1 - 1 sur 1.
Résultats 1 - 1 sur 1.