TALLIS (THOMAS)

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

English organist and composer 

Before being appointed gentleman of the Royal Chapel (Gentleman of the Chapel Royal), Tallis was for eight years (1536-1540) organist of the Abbey of the Holy Cross in Waltham in Essex, until its dissolution by Henry VIII, then organist at Canterbury Cathedral (1541-1542) where Henry VIII noticed it.

For over forty years, from 1543 until his death, Tallis held the organ in the royal chapel. During this period, he will play and compose religious music for the four successive sovereigns on the throne of England: the kings Henry VIII and Edward VI, the queens Marie Tudor and Elisabeth Ire, of religions and different musical sensitivity.

Tallis' early compositions are steeped in Catholic tradition. Tallis will always remain faithful to the Catholic faith, even after the emergence of Anglicanism. However, he settled his music on the Anglican reform and created numerous hymns and hymns adapted to the Protestant liturgy. Thus he succeeded in varying his compositions according to the different religions which alternated in England according to the sovereigns.

In 1575, Queen Elizabeth I gave him the exclusive privilege for twenty-one years, to print and publish music, jointly with William Byrd who joined him in the royal chapel. Byrd published in 1575 a collection of thirty-six pieces by Cantiones Sacræ, sixteen of which were from Tallis. This unwelcome book marks the end of sacred music in England with texts in Latin.

Tallis wrote his most elaborate works on Latin texts. He also composes in French, Italian and English. Tallis' work includes masses, motets, hymns, responses, magnificat and lamentations. His most famous motet, Spem in alium (In No Other Is My Hope), composed for forty independent voices (eight choirs with five voices) demonstrates his great skill and his perfect mastery of the technique of counterpoint. Legend has it that this masterpiece was composed for the 40th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth I.

Composed in a period of trouble between Anglicans and Catholics, at the end of the 1560s, The Lamentations of the Prophet Jeremiah sung in Latin by a five-voice choir are the work of a composer who, arriving at the top of his art, sublimates the musical practices of his time: the golden age of English music.

Thomas Tallis died in Greenwich on November 25, 1585. The epitaph and tombstone have disappeared, the parish church where he rested having been demolished in the 18th century. Since then, a plaque has been placed in the reconstructed church. 

© Didier Chagnas

TALLIS (THOMAS)

TALLIS (THOMAS)

Information

TALLIS (THOMAS)

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

Organiste et compositeur anglais

  • Avant d’être nommé gentilhomme de la Chapelle royale (Gentleman of the Chapel Royal), Tallis a été pendant huit ans (1536-1540) organiste de l'abbaye de la Sainte-Croix à Waltham en Essex, jusqu’à sa dissolution par Henry VIII, puis organiste à la cathédrale de Canterbury (1541-154...

Thomas Tallis (1505-1585)

Organiste et compositeur anglais

  • Avant d’être nommé gentilhomme de la Chapelle royale (Gentleman of the Chapel Royal), Tallis a été pendant huit ans (1536-1540) organiste de l'abbaye de la Sainte-Croix à Waltham en Essex, jusqu’à sa dissolution par Henry VIII, puis organiste à la cathédrale de Canterbury (1541-1542) où Henry VIII le remarqua.
  •  Pendant plus de quarante ans, de 1543 jusqu’à sa mort, Tallis tient l'orgue de la chapelle royale. Pendant cette période, il sera amené à jouer et à composer de la musique religieuse pour les quatre souverains qui se sont succédés sur le trône d’Angleterre : les rois Henry VIII et Édouard VI, les reines Marie Tudor et Élisabeth Ire, de religions et sensibilité musicale différentes.
  •  Les premières compositions de Tallis sont empreintes de la tradition catholique. Tallis restera toujours fidèle à la foi catholique, même après l’apparition de l’Anglicanisme. Il règlera cependant sa musique sur la réforme anglicane et crée de nombreux hymnes et cantiques adaptés à la liturgie protestante. Ainsi réussira- t-il à varier ses compositions en fonction des différentes religions qui alternent en Angleterre selon les souverains.
  •  En 1575, la reine Élisabeth 1ère lui confère le privilège exclusif pour vingt et un ans, d’imprimer et de publier de la musique, conjointement avec William Byrd qui l’a rejoint à la chapelle royale.
  •  Byrd publie en 1575 un recueil de trente-six pièces de Cantiones Sacræ dont seize sont de Tallis. Ce livre, mal accueilli, marque la fin de la musique sacrée en Angleterre avec textes en latin. Tallis a écrit ses œuvres les plus élaborées sur des textes en latin. Il compose également en français, en italien et en anglais.
  •  L’œuvre de Tallis comporte des messes, des motets, des hymnes, des répons, des magnificat et des lamentations. Son motet le plus célèbre, Spem in alium (In No Other Is My Hope), composé pour quarante voix indépendantes (huit chœurs à cinq voix) démontre sa grande habileté et sa parfaite maîtrise de la technique du contrepoint. Selon la légende ce chef d’œuvre aurait été composé pour le 40e anniversaire de la reine Élisabeth Ire.
  •  Composées dans une période de troubles entre Anglicans et Catholiques, à la fin des années 1560, Les Lamentations du Prophète Jérémie (The Lamentations of Jeremiah) chantées en latin par un chœur à cinq voix sont l’œuvre d'un compositeur qui, arrivé au summum de son art, sublime les pratiques musicales de son époque : l’âge d’or de la musique anglaise.
  •  Thomas Tallis est mort à Greenwich le 25 novembre 1585. L’épitaphe et la pierre tombale ont disparu, l’église paroissiale où il reposait ayant été démolie au 18e siècle. Depuis, une plaque a été posée dans l’église reconstruite.
  • © Didier Chagnas

Détails

TALLIS (THOMAS)  Il y a 1 produit.

Résultats 1 - 1 sur 1.
Résultats 1 - 1 sur 1.