LULLY (JEAN-BAPTISTE)
  • Born in Florence in Tuscany, Giovanni Battista Lulli (1632-1687) arrived in Paris at the age of thirteen. He entered the service of King Louis XIV at twenty and, in 1653, he danced alongside the fifteen-year-old king in the Ballet Royal de la Nuit, a performance given before the Court by Cardinal de Mazarin, winner of the Fronde. Eight years...
  • Born in Florence in Tuscany, Giovanni Battista Lulli (1632-1687) arrived in Paris at the age of thirteen. He entered the service of King Louis XIV at twenty and, in 1653, he danced alongside the fifteen-year-old king in the Ballet Royal de la Nuit, a performance given before the Court by Cardinal de Mazarin, winner of the Fronde. Eight years later, naturalized and having francized his name, Jean-Baptiste Lully becomes Superintendent of Music in the King's Chamber.
  • For a decade, Lully collaborated with Molière in numerous comedies-ballets (Georges Dandin, the Magnificent Lovers, Monsieur de Pourceaugnac, Le Bourgeois gentilhomme, ...) until their quarrel in 1671.
  • After the purchase in 1672 of the privilege attached to the Royal Academy of Music which he directs, until his death in 1687, the composer reigns supreme over the music of the Sun King.
  • With his lyrical tragedy, Lully is considered to be the creator of French opera based on recitative and ballet. Lully is also behind the opening "à la française", the form of which extends to all of Europe. He also composes around twenty motets including Les Grands Motets with double choir for the Royal Chapel.
  • While conducting a rehearsal of his Te Deum to celebrate the healing of Louis XIV, the musician injured his foot with the cane which he used to beat time. Gangrene prevails a few months later. The cane will be changed in favor, from now on, of the less dangerous wand ...


    • © Didier Chagnas
More

LULLY (JEAN-BAPTISTE)  There are 3 products.

Showing 1 - 3 of 3 items
Showing 1 - 3 of 3 items

LULLY (JEAN-BAPTISTE)

Information

LULLY (JEAN-BAPTISTE)
  •  Né à Florence en Toscane, Giovanni Battista Lulli (1632-1687) est arrivé à Paris à l’âge de treize ans. Il entre à vingt ans au service du roi Louis XIV et, c'est ainsi qu'en 1653 il danse aux côtés du roi âgé de quinze ans dans le Ballet Royal de la Nuit, spectacle donné devant la Cour par le cardinal de Mazarin, vainqueur de la Fronde. Huit...
  •  Né à Florence en Toscane, Giovanni Battista Lulli (1632-1687) est arrivé à Paris à l’âge de treize ans. Il entre à vingt ans au service du roi Louis XIV et, c'est ainsi qu'en 1653 il danse aux côtés du roi âgé de quinze ans dans le Ballet Royal de la Nuit, spectacle donné devant la Cour par le cardinal de Mazarin, vainqueur de la Fronde. Huit ans plus tard, naturalisé et ayant francisé son nom, Jean-Baptiste Lully devient Surintendant de la Musique de la Chambre du Roi.  
  • Pendant une décennie, Lully collabore avec Molière à de nombreuses comédies-ballets (Georges Dandin, les Amants magnifiques, Monsieur de Pourceaugnac, le Bourgeois gentilhomme,...) jusqu’à leur brouille en 1671.
  • Après l’achat en 1672 du privilège attaché à l'Académie Royale de Musique qu’il dirige, jusqu’à sa mort en 1687, le compositeur règne sans partage sur la musique du Roi-Soleil.
  • Avec ses tragédie lyriques, Lully est considéré comme le créateur de l'opéra à la française fondé sur le récitatif et le ballet. Lully est également à l’origine de l’ouverture "à la française", dont la forme s’étend à toute l’Europe. Il compose par ailleurs une vingtaine de motets dont Les Grands Motets à double chœur pour la Chapelle Royale. 
  • En dirigeant une répétition de son Te Deum pour célébrer la guérison de Louis XIV, le musicien se blesse au pied avec la canne dont il se sert pour battre la mesure. La gangrène l’emporte quelques mois plus tard. On abandonnera par la suite la canne au profit, désormais, de la moins dangereuse baguette...
  • © Didier Chagnas
Détails

LULLY (JEAN-BAPTISTE)  Il y a 3 produits.

Résultats 1 - 3 sur 3.
Résultats 1 - 3 sur 3.